The Most Notable Indian Olympians of All Time

Making it to the Olympics is a goal that many athletes have their entire lives. Participating in the world’s most prestigious athletic event is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity after years of blood, sweat, and tears.

Some athletes compete in the Olympic Games once and then hang up their hats, retiring gracefully. On the other hand, some spend their days preparing to compete again. Others, of course, balance their athletic passion with real-life responsibilities.

Indian athletes may not have won many medals at the Olympics, but they felt their presence. Indians have excelled in these games, setting numerous Olympic records in various events and reigning as defending hockey champions for decades. These Indian Olympians have brought honor to their country by competing in the world’s largest and most prestigious sporting event, the Olympics. Look at some of India’s most famous Olympians of all time and enantato de testosterona!

India had won 28 Olympic medals since 1900 when it first competed at the Games. The nation’s best performance came in 1980 when it won six awards, including one gold. India has won at least one medal at each game since 1952, except for 1964 and 1976.

The country’s first Olympic medal came in 1928 when Norman Pritchard won silver in the men’s 200-meter sprint. Abhinav Bindra won India’s first gold medal in the 10-meter air rifle event at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

Some of India’s most successful Olympic athletes include shooter Bindra, wrestler Sushil Kumar, and badminton player PV Sindhu. All three have won multiple medals at the Games. Kumar is the only Indian athlete to have won two Olympic awards, with gold and a bronze.


Mr. Neeraj Chopra

At 23, Neeraj Chopra made history by becoming the first Indian track and field athlete to win an Olympic gold medal. His Olympics in Tokyo in 2020 was outstanding, inspiring many aspiring athletes. In athletics, he is now ranked second in the world.


Dhyan Chand, Major

Major Dhyan Chand captained the Indian hockey team, which won three consecutive Olympic gold medals. Because of his influence, India was the defending Olympic hockey champion for seven more Olympics. Because of his exceptional ball control, young athletes look up to him. His birthday is celebrated as National Sports Day in India. The Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, India’s highest athletic honor, bears his name.


Bindra, Abhinav

Abhinav Bindra became the first Indian Olympian to win an individual gold medal in the Olympics Men’s 10m Air Rifle event. He was only 26 years old when the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing took place, and he held both the world and Olympic titles. He encourages and supports many young athletes through his foundation and has a significant voice in the nation’s sports policy.


Sindhu, PV

PV Sindhu is the first Indian female athlete to win consecutive Olympics medals. She brought honor to the country with her silver medal at the 2016 Rio Olympics and bronze medal at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. She is the first Indian badminton player to reach the Olympic finals.


Jadhav, KD

KD Jadhav became the first athlete from an independent India to compete in the Olympics. He won a bronze medal in wrestling at the 1952 Olympics in Helsinki. His achievements as a wrestler and a renowned Indian Olympian will be remembered for the rest of time.


Paes, Leander

Leander Paes is the only Indian tennis player to have represented his country in seven consecutive Olympic Games, from 1992 to 2016. He won bronze in the men’s singles tennis competition at the Summer Olympics in Atlanta in 1996. He is regarded as one of the most well-known Indian Olympians.


Malleswari, Karnam

Karnam Malleswari is not only the first woman to win an Olympic medal but also the first Indian weightlifter to do so. After winning a bronze medal at the 2000 Sydney Olympics, she became one of the most well-known Indian Olympians.


Pritchard, Norman

The country’s first Olympic medalist

Although a British citizen born in Calcutta during British rule in India, Norman Pritchard represented India at the 1900 Olympics in Paris. He made history by becoming the first Asian-born person to win an Olympic medal when he won two silver medals in the 200m Hurdles and 200m Dash.


Kumar, Sushil

Sushil Kumar made everyone proud by winning a bronze medal at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, 56 years after KD Jadhav won an Olympic award. He went on to win a silver medal at the 2012 London Olympics to cement his legacy. His victories have undoubtedly inspired the current generation of Indian wrestlers to strive for greater heights.


Other names that have represented India with pride on a global stage include Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Vijender Singh, Vijay Kumar, Yogeshwar Dutt, Mary Kom, and Saina Nehwal, Gagang Narang, Sakshi Malik, Mirabai Chanu, Ravi Kumar Dahiya, Bajrang Punia, and Lovlina Borgohain.


The IOA is headquartered in New Delhi, and its current president is Narinder Batra.

The IOA selection criteria for the Olympic Games are as follows:

– The athlete must have achieved the qualifying standard set by the International Olympic Committee in their respective event.

– The athlete must be ranked in the top 16 of their event in the world, or the top 8 of their occurrence in Asia, as of 1 January of the year of the Games.

– The athlete must be an Indian citizen.

Zack Castillo

Zack Guzman was a multimedia reporter covering money, entrepreneurship and the future of technology.

Leave a Reply